RSS

‘The Cradle Of Civilization’ By Lowkey feat Mai Khalil

10 Jun

Song: ‘The Cradle Of Civilization’
Artist: Lowkey featuring Mai Khalil
Album: ‘Soundtrack To The Struggle.’

(Excerpted from the lyrics)

Introduction (Talking):
I remember when I was growing up,
If my mother got angry or frustrated with me,
She’d say:
‘oy shked helwa el horiya’

And the basic translation of that is:
‘oh, how beautiful is freedom?’
But where is freedom?

… I never picked up a grenade in my garden,
I never saw people I love die starving,
I never saw my family die through many years of sanctions,
While the rulers family lived in palaces and mansions,
Never had a family member kidnapped for a ransom,
Never lost a friend to violence that was random,
Bombings,
Occupation,
Torture,
Intimidation,
A million dead people DOESNT equal liberation!!

Forget division based on
Ethnicity or religion,
Whether you are:
Sunni,
Shia,
Kurdish
Christian,
Pain is just pain if a person is missing,
We all deserve a life
In this earth that we live in.
Its not about…
Pity,
Hand outs,
Sympathy,

Its about…
PRIDE
RESPECT
HONOR
And DIGNITY,

This is for those…
That won’t live to see the future,
Sorry that I wasn’t there,
Sorry that I couldn’t help,
I’m sorry for every tear,
I’m sorry
You’ve been put through hell…

Still I rep, till my death,
Till they kill and seal my flesh,
From now all the way back to Gilgamesh,
Such a villainized and criticized nation,
You will always be…
THE CRADLE OF CIVILIZATION
(Excerpted From The Lyrics)
 
Comments Off on ‘The Cradle Of Civilization’ By Lowkey feat Mai Khalil

Posted by on June 10, 2011 in Spirituality And Growth

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Comments are closed.

 
